I’m a Fraud

Yeah. That I am.

Update: I almost deleted this post today because it was too depressing. But I’ve decided to keep it as a reminder of how terrible things can get sometimes. However, on a brighter note, I don’t feel like a fraud anymore. Defeat generally makes you reconsider and gives you more to draw about. Also, I’d never ever let my students down. No matter what. 

This blog was meant to be about my art practice. I suppose my life is an integral part of that practice. Anyway, my life is in shambles but I try to channel it into my art-making practice. Sometimes, I just end up with shit.

Being depressed does give me an opportunity to make pointless drawings and to play out pointless fantasies (usually involving Andy Warhol endorsing my awesomeness) but it does make me feel like a fraud. There. I’ve said it. I feel like a fraud.

The past few years have been no walk in the park and I figured if I could make the stress go away, I’d come out clean and shiny with all my energy intact. However, that was another fantasy that didn’t quite work out. Sometimes, it feels like I’m working on a drawing which refuses to “resolve” to anything that I could put up. Gloom and doom. I remember a time which felt something like this and I never thought it would happen again. But unfortunately, it has and there seems to be nothing I can do about it except wait it out and see what happens and all that crap.

I have these beautiful young people who look up to me and that usually makes me feel wonderful and useful. Now I just feel like a complete fraud. How can I help them when I’m such a mess? If they knew how helpless I am, would they still care about what I say? Today, I made a wonderful child blurt out her story by insisting that I could understand. And I could. But have I resolved my stupid problems? How can I dare to be anything other than a failure? How can I dare to even try to help? I am a fraud.

But, I can be brave. I think I still remember what that is.

6 responses to “I’m a Fraud

  1. mam you are a very genuine person & we are honored to have you as a teacher. Frauds do not write stuff like this. . .

  2. u are truly one of the most genuine people i have met. ure experiences have made you a strong and honest person and that is something very rare. it is said about doctors that they cant treat themselves no matter how great they may be at curing other patients….

    • what i mean is that after knowing you i have realised that you have the gift of understanding and healing. ure conversation is honest and soft. and i am proud to have you as my teacher. and i wish you find whatever you seek.

  3. i just hope i make u feel a lil proud of me for all u hv invested in me n all of us!!! 😛 trust me m trying the hardest!

  4. Pingback: I’m a Fraud | Tea Break

Leave a Reply

