Everything but the Kitchen Sink

Being the queen of procrastination and suffering from a terrible artists’ block, I was looking up different meanings of, well, block. Isn’t that riotously lame? Anyway, one was particularly interesting:

An inability to remember or think of something you normally can do; often caused by emotional tension

Yes. That defines my life. It has become so intolerable that I have had to resort to watching shoddy campfests like Meteor (1979) which is really one of the lamest disaster films ever. I bet a very small population of mankind has even heard of it. Or I could be underestimating the power of boredom. Usually apocalyptic/disaster films with bad dialogues about impending doom make me feel a lot better but this one is exceptionally bad so I had to resort to looking up definitions (the next best thing).

The act of obstructing or deflecting someone’s movements

Of course I am obstructing myself – or something is blocking me. I wish I knew what it was. All I could manage in the last month is this:

Unfinished and untitled

And it isn’t even complete. I wouldn’t know what to do with it anyway. It seems I’ve lost the ability to make anything. A much more experienced and older artist friend told me it happens and I should run away and see the world some more and it will come right back. I hope he’s right.

5 responses to “Everything but the Kitchen Sink

  1. That looks beautiful in its incompletion. And art comes from life, I suppose. Staying in an artistic shell can be frustrating if you are not already up to something.

  2. Wow. Pretty good piece there. Why would it be incomplete??!

    As for blocks – yes, you need to go away, relax and re-assess. You get your mojo back eventually.

  3. Can I please please please have this on a shirt?

Leave a Reply

