Insane in the Brain – Lahore Tragedy

I have been thinking about how crazy everything is for some time now. Today, all I could think about was the recent insanity – the May 28th tragedy in Lahore. I’ve had it up to here with violence, terrorism and the general apathy. I’m sick to death of the inane media reports and bigotry/hypocrisy of my people. This post is personal and I am not attempting to analyze politics or religious intolerance. I just don’t know what to do with myself.

I feel helpless and ashamed. I have always believed in the goodness of people. I have always believed that things always work out. These days it’s difficult to sustain this belief. In fact, it’s the hardest thing to do. How are we supposed to go on with nothing to look forward to? There are too many people who are crazy. What am I supposed to hope for? A world that gets even crazier? Laws that are dubious and without meaning? Is this where we are going?

I don’t really know what to say. I think Mehreen Kasana (I salute your courage) has done an excellent post about the situation. Not only was it honest and upfront, it also enlightened me (the link to other posts was very helpful as well). Oh the shame, the horror! Have I been so blind? How could I not know? This has been happening for such a long time. And I was blind. Now I can do nothing but feel ashamed and miserable.

5 responses to “Insane in the Brain – Lahore Tragedy

  1. I salute you for being you, Nadia. The 28th May carnage left only a small portion of the country appalled. The rest remains either silent or simply apathetic. Some even justify the bloodshed and that’s when I feel like pissing on this country and leaving it behind.

    • For some deranged reason, I cannot bring myself to leave this land. A long time ago, all I wanted to do was run away. But it follows you around, the land. It’s inside you – or maybe it’s just me. I felt more Pakistani when I was abroad than I ever felt here. If only I could run away but it will just follow me around everywhere I go. I don’t know why I feel responsible. At the same time, I know how you feel. I feel the same – all this shit fills me with despair. It’s like I’m torn between loving my country because it is my land and wanting to take a dump on it all.

  2. Hashim Nauman

    That’s the thing about our country and the people that live in it. They will “condemn” attacks only to a certain extent where their breed is not involved.

    Keeping my religious views aside I fail to understand why the mullahs after Friday prayers NEVER pray for the people who lost their lives in suicide attacks. I mean not just anyone, NO ONE. Not a single prayer, ever ever. And that just makes you wonder… Are they silently in favor of what’s going on?

    I can only imagine the rejoice under the hidden clutches of these mosques and madrassahs. Oh they did what we couldn’t do, they killed those bloody infidels.

    It’s actually very very sad.

    • Then they are sad and pathetic. I feel sorry for them. Pity is worse than anything else. If somebody felt sorry for me, I’d die of shame. They have no self-respect and no compassion. That makes them petty and evil brutes.

      But from a more pragmatic view, they are counter-productive and are making things worse. As it is, we’re suffering from lack of resources and inflation (or whatever it is). They’re killing innocent people and enjoying themselves. These people are also redundant in the larger scheme of things. Unfortunately, it seems that they are a majority. That is absolutely terrifying. We’re living in a nightmare.

      Whatever anybody’s beliefs might be, they cannot overlook the need for compassion and humanity in these crazy times. People who are rejoicing and damning themselves and the rest of us who are helpless because we are a minority. How sad is that?

Leave a Reply

