Hate Speech

Gawd, these mullah types are insufferable.

 In light of recent events (facebook/youtube – hell, even wikipedia ban, being robbed openly in the streets etc.) I took some time off watching Legend of the Seeker (pity about them cancelling it after season 2) and started reading online. I chanced upon the blog of a girl I knew from grade school. I even went through some years of my life thinking she was a friend, before some unfortunate conversations that changed everything for me. Before I write any further, I must warn everyone that this is entirely from personal experience and I do not intend to stereotype or generalize. It’s just that I have almost always experienced a certain type in a certain way, or so to speak. Also, this isn’t really about art in Pakistan but about people who make an art of being absolutely stark raving mad. And it isn’t cool. Nope, it’s mental.

So this girl was like most kids in school with me – absolutely inconsiderate of other people’s feelings. Yours truly was awkward and strange so I was victimized by her from the very beginning. Later, when I was free from the horrible angst of adolescence, I connected with her again and (surprise, surprise) she had gone mullah. Oh yes, she was covered from head to toe with just her eyes and bits of nose hanging out. Ofcourse, I was supportive being the tolerant fool that I usually am in such situations. However, things changed with time. Such people do tend to impose themselves on people like me, foolish enough to be supportive even if I am different from them. You see, tolerance isn’t really their way, in my experience. They usually cannot tolerate me. It just makes me ask more questions and they get annoyed and quote books and sayings and fatwas. In their pious minds, they are always holier than thou (or me, atleast).

Again I cannot claim that all of them are like that. Fortunately, I have kept clear of them. Perhaps, I fear judgement. Perhaps, I don’t really give a shit. I did catch one of them stealing from me in college and that didn’t help. Did I just pull an us and them? Oh well, I am annoyed by what I read. It disturbs me because I don’t see the point. So this girl I knew from school (not the burka clad thief I knew as an undergrad at Indus Valley) writes an annoying blog that I make a point to read now and again. I keep telling myself not to, but then I’d be running away.

Unfortunately, this woman has children. What she does with them is really none of my business. But it creeps me out all the same. This post I read was about education and her thoughts on homeschooling and why she sent her kids to regular schools and some parts are to die for. For example:

For all the relentless flak it gets from international media because of the volatile situation up North, Pakistan has an excellent primary and secondary education system.

Uh. Yeah. What schools would that be? The fancy school where her children go? Like most hypocrites, she sends her children to fancy schools that have teachers who don’t whip the kids regularly. I went to a private school where everyone went for private tuitions after school because our teachers just didn’t teach us enough. And those unfortunates who didn’t go were told by teachers that we’d flunk our O’levels for sure. Anyway, our school systems, private or otherwise aren’t exactly the best in the world.

 I have seen the results of, and read about, the early education systems of other countries, and I think that the performance of our local teenagers in international examinations and foreign university entrance tests speaks for itself – as well as for the laudable local education standards. It is the local higher education system that, more often than not, with the exception of a few colleges and universities, leaves a lot to be desired…

Yes. International examinations. And the local higher education system does leave a lot to be desired but we try – we try so hard.

In addition, let us not forget that most schools in the West have started to witness an alarming, rising incidence of school shootings and on-campus violence. Graphic sex education is sometimes compulsory for all middle school students (or even younger pupils), and absolutely no religious tarbiyah/training is imparted at public school level. Also, the public schools are mostly co-educational, with intermingling of both genders.

Aha! So that’s the real issue here. Sex education leads to school shootings. Knowing how babies are made and knowing you have private parts makes you trigger happy and you shoot all the kids in your class. Wow, I really didn’t know it worked that way. Sex turns you into a murdering freak and co-education helps it along. Religion will save you. Personally, I don’t think I have anything against religion. I just don’t like it shoved in my face and turned into an excuse for everything – good or bad.

This goes on and on. She writes about making her tiny kid opt out of music class. She writes about how great single gender schools are. She writes about how her kid dreams of covering even her eyes some day. It really isn’t any of my business but it does make me wonder. There must be loads of these people out there, claiming to know it all. They must have people who believe them. What a wonderful world.

I have nothing against people who have a belief. Everyone has a right to choose. But when people like this woman (who will stay anonymous) create more monsters by spreading the so called “truth” that they imagine in their own heads, it hurts other people. I am usually suspicious of anyone (burka-clad or not) who claims to know the absolute truth without consideration for people who might believe differently.

14 responses to “Hate Speech

  1. Hate speech indeed. I did heed your disclaimer but even then, what this lady does with her own children isn’t anybody’s business. Maybe your personal experiences have colored your judgement. All Mullah types as you call them don’t shove their beliefs in people’s faces. We are on the righteous path.

    • I am not so certain that there is one righteous path or complete and utter righteousness, mj. But perhaps my personal experiences have made me sour. However, in time I might even change my mind. Your opinion is as valuable as mine so you have all the right to be on your righteous path and I guess I can wander about in my own labyrinth.

  2. Hashim Nauman

    The righteous path does end up in a labyrinth at the end anyways.

    Then the eeman is weak =p

    • Damn eeman is always so weak. It’s always brought up. It’s always questioned. Isn’t it personal? This eeman? Is it up for grabs for every tom, dick and (dirty) harry? I was watching some talk show out of sheer boredom today and this dude (who happens to be Oh So Holier than Thou and Moi and Everyone on Earth – same dude who also wears hideous kurtas and sings offkey devotions during Ramazan) was claiming that killing people for this facebook offence is totally the righteous path. That guy needs help. And this was on TV. Howcome they don’t ban totally offensive bullshit like this dude? Howcome they don’t ban people who brainwash little kids and turn them into weirdos who hate everyone else? I can’t even think about it anymore because it scares me so much.

  3. I’m a Muslim and I practice my beliefs every now and then but the difference between me and those god-damn extremists (like the virago mentioned above) is that I don’t force others to deepthroat my religion. It’s just wrong. I’ve known women like the one in this post and it’s true: They’re an abomination to mankind. Constantly giving a horrid misrepresentation of religion. I wish people would STFU and mind their own holy business. Atheist or agnostics, believers or Kaafir, whoever it is: They have the right to live as they please as long as they pose no harm to me or you.

    This woman, on the other hand, is busy rearing potential Talibans in kindergarten.

    • Knowing her since she was in a horrible City School uniform helped me understand what kind of people go mullah in a bad way. It’s mostly the people who must always have their way and nobody dare question them! Questions are for the wicked. When you pose questions, you get struck down by lightning. God is a mean troll who judges you if you don’t hide in a burka. In a burka, god can’t see you. In a burka, you can be safe. Except when you eat soup in public and you slurp menacingly under your veil while everyone else tries really hard not to puke.

  4. The title of the post really justifies the post. Its a hate speech for sure.

  5. artkapakistan, I also want to repeat my comments which I left on a similar post.
    I have read a few posts on this topic on Pakistani blogs. Comparing these posts with a discussions that was going on a non Muslim forum has really confused me. Its really hard to see the difference between the westerners and the westernized. Islam is the victim on both sides.

    These also remind me what Dr. Iqbal said, (if I remember well)
    “Haq se hai gar gharz tau zeba hai kia yeh baat
    Islam ka muhasba, Europe se darguzar.”

    “Ho fikr agar haam tau azaad-e-izhaar,
    Insaan ko haiwan bananay ka tareeqa”

    Why Islam is the only victim everywhere?

    Actually, the purpose of my comments is not to hurt your feelings but its just to convey another point of view which also exists in our Pakistan. We should not forget that both sides have plenty of extremists.
    Thank you for publishing my previous words.
    Best wishes

    • What baffles me is that you (and by this, I just mean you and not a group) consider your religion to be so fragile – an entity that can be victimized. You do realize, its never the thought that is the victim but the people who suffer. It’s how you look at it, really. If your religion becomes something that needs to be wrapped in cottonwool, then how can it guide you? A victim can hardly be a guide towards enlightenment or a better life (or afterlife). I do not mean to hurt your feelings either. It’s just that I feel that faith cannot possibly be so weak that it becomes a victim. People, however, can choose to be victims or choose to stop being petty and interfering in everybody else’s lives. It all seems very clear to me. I am not a victim. Neither is my faith (private and nobody else’s business).

  6. artkapakistan,

    [its never the thought that is the victim but the people who suffer]

    You have brought some good points in your comments. I admit that using the word “victim” was my mistake.
    I will inshaAllah try to think more about the rest of your comment. I am a little busy I hope I will be back to say more.

    Thanks for your reminder.

    Best Wishes

    • Um that really wasn’t a reminder and I didn’t intend to show you how you were making a mistake. That really isn’t my concern and I do not take it upon myself to point out “mistakes” because how other people think is up to them really. I can respond though. I was just responding to your comment.

  7. Dear Nadia,

    This Sadaf woman does seem to have adopted the most conservative strain of her religion, however, after having just read an entry or two, on her blog, she doesn’t seem to be as insufferable as you paint her to be.

    She seems naive and badly-informed in general. The Pakistani public school system does seem to be in dire straights with an extremely low budget to GDP ratio of funding, badly designed syllabus, and the teachers that exist on paper only and get paid despite not having showed up in ages, to list a few problems

    You also have to be a bit skeptical when muslims talk about the ‘West’-as if it’s homogeneous. Broad generalizations don’t help anyones case. Her claims about about increased violence, in “most” western schools, are not backed up by any statistical data. It’s not true sex education is compulsory, as far as, at least, the U.S is concerned. Although, it is true- thankfully- that there is no religious tarbiyat and that most public schools are co-ed.

    But still, your main complaint of her seems to be that she draws a link between sex-education and school shootings and violence, which she never does; you probably derived that from a mis-reading of the text. All she did was list the things she finds wrong with the ‘western’ education system, to support her conclusion that the Pakistani school system is just as good, if not better.

    I feel your pain. I really do. The mullah-types do tend to rub me the wrong way with the obnoxious and persistent pontificating. But, in this case, you have been a little hasty

    • You might be right. However, knowing her as I do, her self-righteousness annoys me. Perhaps I haven’t been hasty – it’s built up to this over a long time. I wish you hadn’t revealed her name. I wouldn’t go that far.

Leave a Reply

